What’s so special about Warframe anyway?

I don’t know why, but I seem to be a very seasonal kind of guy. It always happens during winter that I pick up Black Desert again, for example.

The month of August, on the other hand, obviously does something with me that makes me miss playing Warframe. So here I am, still doing my daily stuff in Lost Ark, but dedicating the remainder of my gaming time fully to being a Tenno once more. Man, what an awesome game this is!

The other day I left a comment to one of Naithin’s posts, saying that Warframe is most likely the only Looter Shooter I’ll ever need, and while there is some hyperbole to that it’s pretty spot on at the same time.

The thing is, Digital Extremes’ masterpiece has spoiled me in some fundamental ways, and whenever I play an even remotely similar game I can’t help but compare the two. As you’ve probably gussed by now, Warframe always seems to come out on top in some – to me – very important respects.

Warframe in 2023 – now also with horsies

Unsurprisingly the first thing that comes to mind is the game’s unparalleled pace and fluidity. Everything is so smooth and, if you want it to be, blazingly fast that playing any other game afterwards feels like walking through molasses.

I get that this isn’t to everyone’s liking, but I love it so much that it’s become really hard for me to settle for less, so to speak. If your Looter Shooter doesn’t let me double jump, bullet jump, glide and run alongside walls it’s gonna have a hard time winning me over.

Another big contributor to this quick pace is the fact that, bosses aside, enemies aren’t bullet sponges. I mean, sure, at certain points in your progression you will face considerably tougher opponents, but those aren’t meant to stay that way forever. Instead they’re there to nudge you towards rethinking your loadout and strategy to get stronger, and once you’ve done that even the hardest (normal) enemies become pushovers again.

Yesterday I played one of the game’s endless mission types for about 45 minutes or so, and when I extracted I had defeated just shy of three thousand (!) mobs. It doesn’t always have to be this extreme of course, but let me tell you, I absolutely do not have the patience anymore to shoot each single enemy in the face half a dozen times before they finally decide that I have, in fact, killed them.

Another aspect of the game’s design that I love to death is the enormous complexity, and the freedom that comes with it.

With over 50 ‘frames to choose from, who knows how many weapons, over a thousand mods, companions, arcanes, Forma, focus schools, archon shards, Helminth abilities…it is 100% safe to say that you will never, ever meet another player who is using the exact same loadout as you do.

It’s not that this doesn’t really have much influence on gameplay either – quite the contrary. For example, my Xbox-based buddy and I play the game very differently. He likes to shoot stuff – even his melee weapon of choice is used to nuke the entire site from orbit, basically. I use guns and blades too of course, but I tend to rely on strong warframe abilities much more often. Hence I’m regularly seen playing ‘frames like Gara, with whom I’m usually running around, killing everything by just touching it, without firing even a single shot.

Not only do our tastes in how we like to fight vary, we also enjoy different kinds of missions and gameplay. Before crossplay was implemented we used to play simultaneously but individually, and while he was, say, running two dozen void fissures to crack open relics for Prime parts, I was meticulously searching every nook and cranny for well hidden loot caches in certain missions to find rare mods.

Which is great because this not only means that each of us can play the game exactly how we enjoy it the most, we’ll also be able, should trade between platforms finally be enabled at some point, to help each other out with stuff we don’t like to farm for ourselves. I already have a couple of harder to get mods stockpiled for that occasion, and he keeps surplus Prime parts in store for me in turn.

I always get a kick out of finding one of these

There’s one more thing that puts Warframe way ahead of the competition for me – the loot. It just works. Again, for me.

In his reply to my comment mentioned above Naithin said this about Warframe:

Sure, there is shooting and there is looting, but there isn’t loot, you know? Mods sort of play that role and it isn’t quite the same as getting that one legendary or unique that will enable the build you want.

I absolutely get that, but here’s the thing: finding those legendaries or uniques happens so goddamn rarely in most games! Playing for an hour or two and not finding a single shiny (that I actually need) can feel like a waste of time to me, even if the gameplay itself is enjoyable. Even Diablo II, one of my all-time favourite games, is guilty of that.

Of all loot-centric games I’ve played Path of Exile and Warframe are the only ones that have always managed to make me feel like nothing I do is ever a waste of time.

Getting that sweet dopamine rush by finding a really rare and great thingy is awesome, sure. Warframe has those too – just the other day I finally got my first copy of Hammer Shot, a pretty strong mod for primary weapons that has a measly 1% drop chance at the end of certain missions which you can only do a couple of times per day.

Click to enlarge

For me it’s much more about the little things though. Like I said, I have a desire to feel productive, so even if I do not find that rare item I’m looking for, it still feels good when I at least have a plethora of other useful stuff to show for it.

Look at that screenshot above – in addition to Hammer Shot I received credits, Endo, some other mods that I can give away or turn into more Endo, various resources to build stuff with or feed to the Helminth, syndicate standing, and XP for four different focus schools. So even if Hammer Shot hadn’t dropped I wouldn’t have come up empty, which is just the way I like it.

So, yeah, those are just some of the things that make Warframe special to me, and as of yet no other game I’ve played has come even close to it in these regards.

Blaugust 2023 post count: 5

5 Replies to “What’s so special about Warframe anyway?”

  1. I love the IDEA of Warframe but honestly the pace is just too fast for my 60-something brain to keep up with. I would play it solo and just go at my own pace but (last time I played anyway) there were too many missions that felt like they required a team since they’d have several control points to be occupied at the same time.

    But now I’m REALLY looking forward to Soulframe, which they’ve already said will be a slower-paced experience. They had a 30-ish minute demo at Tennocon (you can find it on YouTube) that I was pretty stoked about!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t really disagree with most of what you’ve said. I love me some Warframe on occasion too — although probably not with the same regularity you do. I can go a year or two without playing and then just randomly jump in *hard* again for a while. 🙂

    Where I think I would venture a different opinion (for me, at least) is regarding the regularity of loot in other games vs. the consolation prizes of still earning endo and the like in WF.

    I think that when you’re really looking to play a particular style with a particular frame and you’re missing either that one rare mod or the last component to start crafting the frame — the other stuff you get is nearly an irrelevance.

    At least mentally and in that moment while doing the farm. Yes, absolutely, it *does* hold value and you’ll be glad to have it later.

    But if you’re busily popping rifts looking for that *one* piece and it never quite rolls in your favour, or you’re running nightmare mission after nightmare mission or perhaps the Lua mods or any number of other more select drop mods, again, not getting them for an extended period can feel like an absolute waste of time and effort.

    Right up until you do actually get it, of course — then of *course* it was worth it. 🙂

    But I figure that experience to be pretty similar across the genre, although there are certainly other looter’s out there that might even be a little more generous than Warframe on these sorts of things.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. @Nimgimli – Yeah, Interception missions aren’t really fun to do alone. On the other hand, in a group of four everyone can just focus on one of the control points and stay there the whole time, so no running around required. 😉

    @Naithin – Fair enough.

    I think, for me personally, PoE and Warframe manage to make me feel like all that other stuff isn’t just a bunch of consolation prices because, as you say, I actually need it. Lots of it.

    After 600+ hours I’m still so far away from maxing out all relevant mods, leveling all focus schools etc. that every mission feels worth my time as long as I get somewhat meaningful amounts of that.

    The PoE-equivalent would be stuff like Chromatics, Jewellers etc. of course.

    Like

  4. I went heavy on WF and then took a 2 year break, and it’s impossible to get back in. Tehre are way too many currencies, to begin with. Same reason why I refuse to play Destiny 2, Genshin, etc, etc. Too many stupid currencies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @Isey – Warframe does a pretty terrible job at easing players in, that much is certain.

      Personally I don‘t mind as I‘ve always found it fun to research stuff on my own, but still, the playerbase could probably be quite a bit bigger if the game wasn‘t as hard to get into.

      As for currencies, I don‘t feel like Warframe actually has that many. That’s surely just a matter of perspective though. Stuff like crafting mats, reputation points and such aren‘t currencies in my mind, but if you count all that it‘s without a doubt a hell of a lot.

      Like

Leave a comment